Building Scenic Units Quiet Man: 2

Wednesday, April 3

Building the Doorway

After dropping my son off at school, I returned to my garage/shop to begin building the doorway with the materials that I had purchased on Tuesday.

The materials cost $160.37 and included the following:

  • 5 lb – 3″ drywall screws
  • 8 – 1x6x10′ #2 (quality) boards
  • 4 – 1x6x12 #2 (quality) boards
  • 1 – 1x8x10 #3 (standard) board
  • 4 – 2x4x8
  • 3 – 5/4x6x10 treated deck board

You may notice that I elected to purchase lengths that would clearly not fit within my vehicle (which can contain nothing longer than 8′).  These lengths were the most efficient lengths to minimize waste and they rode comfortably on  the roof rack on my Vibe.  I also elected to buy better materials for some parts of the project because the #2 (quality) boards were significantly better than the #2 (standard) boards (which in addition to knots, splits and warps, almost all had sarge sections of “bark”).

I began the assembly with the door frame.  I framed the reveal pieces of 1×6 and squared them up  before continuing by gluing and pneumatic finish-nailing the facings. (1×6 for the posts and 1×8 for the lintel)

At 11:00 am, I took a break and made another run to Menards.  The objective of this trip was to secure the materials that I would need to build the fence units. (which I wanted to have on hand, but which I, again, wasn’t expecting to use immediately.

The materials cost $82.49 and included the following:

  • 6 – 1x6x10 #2 (quality) boards
  • 4 – 1x6x8 #2 (standard) boards
  • 3 – 8′ landscape timbers (for fence posts)

Returning home, I continued building the door platform.  Since the door frame is meant to penetrate the frame of the platform to create a sturdy self-supporting door with no need of external support structures, I built the frame to the exact dimensions of the door frame.  I also built the door shutters.

Once these were complete, I turned my attention to constructing the table.  The dimensions of the top were adjusted as-per directorial request to 33″ x 33″ square.

Thursday, April 6

I began the day with another run to Menards.  This trip was devoted to the purchase of the hardware that I would need for the hutch and the door unit.

The materials cost $76.22 and included the following:

  • 1 – thumb latch gate catch
  • 4 – crystal hexagon knob
  • 4 – cabinet hinges
  • 2 – packages (2 ea) T-strap gate hinge
  • 2 – packages (3 ea) T-nuts
  • 5 gal – joint compound
  • 3 – 5/4x6x10 treated deck board

Returning home, I worked on paperwork until noon and then made my way down to Simpson College.  I needed to attend a faculty/staff meeting there at 3:00pm, but arrived early to pull furniture that I needed to borrow for Quiet Man:

  • 1 – 30″ x 54″ table
  • 1 – spindle “captain” arm-chair
  • 2 – “fruitwood”-finish spindle side-chair
  • 2 – dark finish spindle side-chairs
  • 1 – 21″x 21″x 36″crate
  • 1 – 21″x 21″x 24″crate
  • 1 – 15″x 15″x 24″crate
  • 1 – 5′ bench

Friday, April 5

After dropping my son off at school, I took another trip to Menards.  This was necessary because I forgot to pick up a few items of hardware and because, having learned that some hoped-for donations had fallen-through, I needed some paint and adhesives.

The materials cost $77.46 and included the following:

  • 1 – package (14 ea) 3/8″ x 2″ hex bolts
  • 4 – 3/8″ x 4″ carriage bolts
  • 1 – package (6 ea) fender washer
  • 2 – magnetic catch
  • 1 – 4″ barrel bolt
  • 1 gal – flat white paint
  • 1 gal – flat black paint
  • 1 gal – carpenter’s wood glue
  • 8 – 12 oz cans, expandable foam sealant

At home I bolted the door frame to the platform and installed the latch hardware and hinges to the doors and installed the hinges and knobs on the hutch.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I met with the Artistic Director from the Des Moines Social Club (a local community theatre) to pick up some stone wall scenic elements that the Artistic Director of  Winterset Stage had negotiated with them to borrow.    After some hassle with parking and some struggles getting the items out of storage, I returned to my garage with the units.  They are made of solid foam and measure 18″ deep by about 36″ high.  One unit is 90″ long and the other is 120″ long.  Imagine seeing a little Pontiac Vibe driving around Des Moines with these babies strapped to the roof!

 

 

 

Returning home, I spent the evening re-drawing the dry-stone rock ground row to incorporate these new elements.

Saturday, April 6

The day began attending my son’s band contest in Indianola.  On my way home, I picked up a bench from Simpson College that I plan on using for Divine Sister (another project that I am working on)

Returning home, I took another run to Menards to purchase the materials needed to build the rest of the ground row.

The materials cost $134.91 and included the following:

  • 3 – 1x4x12 #3 (standard) boards
  • 4 – 1x8x12 #3 (standard) boards
  • 1 – 1x6x12 #3 (standard) board
  • 3 – 2″ expanded polystyrene 4×8 sheet
  • 1 – 1 1/2″ expanded polystyrene 4×8 sheet
  • 2 – 1/4″ lauan 4×8 sheet

Returning home, I repaired the lighting on my trailer, replacing the  driver-side light which had been damaged over the winter.   Then I loaded  the Quiet Man scenery (door unit, hutch, bookshelves) onto it.

Sunday, April 7

I drove down to Winterset to drop the first load of scenery off there.  Since the Miller theatre is not available to us yet, we are painting in a temporary location known as the “Academy”.  The building is a retired high school building, repurposed for city offices.  The old auditorium is still mostly intact and it is there that we will be painting the set pieces and storing them until Load-In on May 20.

After dropping the scenery off, I attended a scheduled production meeting at the current Winterset high school building and returned home, dropping off my trailer in Indianola in preparation for taking the furniture that I pulled Thursday to Winterset on Monday May 7

That’s enough for now! Have fun!  Be safe!

SJM

Leave a Reply

